Greyhound Derby 2022 Heats 1 - 10

Greyhound Derby 2022 Heats 1 - 10

Night one of the 2022 Star Sports/TRC Derby was the Patrick Janssens show, last year's winning handler putting down quite a marker with 4 winners including a brilliant track record for his Lautaro. In the English v Irish challenge, it ended with an 8-2 home advantage with just the small matter of 22 round one heats to go. Here's the full recap.

Against the market Aussie Captain, easy to back at 7/2, won the opener for Janssens and the Aussie Boys Syndicate, the trainer emulating Ian Reilly in 2005 by being the previous year's winning handler to win the opening race of the following Derby.

Greyhound Derby 2022 - Heat 1
Aussie Captain won Heat 1 in 29.82 for Patrick Janssens beating Skywalker Forte by a head. Narcos The Great was 3rd.

To make a point Janssens followed up with a win for Bev Lochead's Bockos Belly as he continued his fairytale return from a broken shoulder.

Greyhound Derby 2022 - Heat 2
Patrick Janssens’ Bockos Belly took heat 2 for the trainer by some distance from Hoodoo Brown with Savana Camino in 3rd. Joint favourite Jaguar Macie was badly crowded and finished last.

The closest of the first night's heats, if not the quickest, was the third as Tom Heilbron's Innfield Trojan prevailed in a bunch finish for Tom and Kevin Heilbron plus John Jefferson.

Greyhound Derby 2022 - Heat 3
A length and a half covered the first 3 home as Tom Heilbron’s Innfield Trojan beat Make Noise and Goldies Perryman in the 3rd heat. The slowest winning time time of the night saw favourite Ballyblack Speed miss the cut by the slimmest of margins.

Spinosaurus would have been representing Ireland a month earlier, instead the 4/1 chance makes a winning British debut for trainer James Turner and the Hazard Syndicate.

Greyhound Derby 2022 - Heat 4
James Turner’s Spinosaurus won heat 4 with Hello Hammond and Sporting Chile completing the qualifiers. Bills Tudor at 9/1 completely missed the break but otherwise the market judged it perfectly.

Patrick Janssens picked up his third win of the night as Deelish Frankie overcame what looked a really tough draw with a brilliant back straight burst to win for Evan Herbert, John Porter and Stephen Vogt.

The run of the night, and the round, as that man Patrick Janssens is back with another winner and a track record to boot 💪. Lautaro is jointly owned by Patrick plus Evan Herbert and John Porter.

Greyhound Derby 2022 - Heat 6
Lautaro delivers a new track record. Not content with the hat trick, Patrick Janssens fast starting odds on favourite set a new track record in a box to line performance and gave the champion trainer his 4th win of the night. Ballymore Border and Amaze Me Seb made up the

The Irish make their presence felt with a first win the Derby and an impressive one at that as Da Bold Freddie bolts up for trainer Peter Cronin and owner Pat McDonagh.

Greyhound Derby 2022 - Heat 7
Da Bold Freddie gave Peter Cronin and the Irish contenders their first win of the night beating Dapper Rodney and Droopys Goodtime.

The Irish really flexing their muscles now and it's a 1-2-3 for the raiders with heavily-supported Skywalker Barry leading home compatriots Ballymac Fairone and Bockos Leah. Winning trainer is Michael O'Donovan, owner Ray Patterson; winner's sectional of 4.04sec bettered even Lautaro's 4.07sec en route to the track record.

Greyhound Derby 2022 - Heat 8
Michael O’Donovan’s Skywalker Barry delivered a second Irish win of the night ahead of Ballymac Fairone and Bockos Leah. The heat delivered exactly what the market expected with the winner breaking quickly and always leading.

Gary Griffiths picked up a win for owner Stephen Harvey in heat 9 with Magical Duke flying the traps and making all following a rapid 4.05sec split.

Greyhound Derby 2022 - Heat 9
Magical Duke flew the box leaving Chubbys Jet, Priceless Jet and Savanna Scrapy to challenge for the remaining qualifying places. Chubbys Jet claimed 2nd whilst 11/10 favourite Priceless Jet took 3rd.

Rounding off the night, John Mullins' Signet Goofy proved his stamina as he took heat 10 for Lee Calcutt and Chris Waters.

Greyhound Derby 2022 - Heat 10
John Mullins’ Signet Goofy won the final heat of the night by 2 lengths over favourite Savana Beau. Tight for second with Ninja Kerry missing out by 1/4 of a length.